A Heart Hidden in Christ

rose“A woman’s heart should be so hidden in Christ, that a man should have to seek Him first to find her.” Maya Angelou

As most of you know, I have this quote posted on the sidebar of this blog. It has a beautiful meaning and vision to me personally – and I think to every woman who reads it, for two reasons:

1) Our hearts long to be hidden (safe, adored, secure) in something or someone.

2) And the thought of a man seeking God to know our heart is so tender and precious, and would leave any woman feeling extremely loved and cherished.

I would like to discuss each reason in a little more depth.

Yes, our hearts long to be hidden in someone who will protect, love and cherish us immensely for who we are and who we are becoming. But to many women, this quest to be hidden in someone ends in broken hearts, consuming emptiness, and wasted lives.

Take a look at the culture around you. What are most young women “hiding” themselves in? Boyfriends? Appearance? Clothes? Diets? Drugs? Sadly, the answer is yes. Sinful human nature will lead you right to these for satisfaction and happiness. A woman’s identity in this world is based on her man, body, and status. If you don’t have these, you will stand out – in a negative way.

As a result of this unbiblical mindset, young girls are cast into the world scrambling to be hidden in something just to fit in, and to find their own happiness. How cruelly they are deceived when a boyfriend doesn’t make you feel safe, your image changes, and at the end of the day you are still fighting that awful, gnawing hunger for something more in the core of your soul.

Is there a better way? Can women be hidden is something that really satisfies? YES! Sinful woman needs a Savior – and that is Jesus Christ. 

“Set your mind on things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” Col. 3:2-3 

Dying to the world and it’s ways, we can set our hearts on Someone else. Self has died – and life is hidden in Christ! This word “hidden” can also be translated “planted”, like a seed that is buried in the earth. How astounding that we who have died to sin are like a seed, dead in itself; yet in Christ hidden and buried we become alive and fruitful! We are safe and secure in the refuge of Christ, and our hearts are finally at peace and satisfied in His transforming and fulfilling presence. Our hearts are hidden in Christ alone and this is where we belong.

But we must be prepared to realize that we will not “fit in” by the world’s standards. This quest for a hidden heart in Christ results in a set apart lifestyle that is lived differently than those who are in the world. We don’t (shouldn’t) act, dress, talk, or behave like the world, because we don’t seek the things the world seeks. We seek that which is above – that is Jesus our Lord and the virtues He bestows.

And what blessings this hidden life brings! We have Christ and His Word to comfort and encourage, urging us to press on, stay hidden in Him, and live for Him; conforming to His image and persevering in our sufferings. It is in this set apart life lived for Jesus alone that we embrace the hidden heart and it’s pleasures forevermore.

Our hearts seek no one else for the happiness we find in Jesus. And if it be His will, He blesses us with an earthly man who can represent to us Christ Himself in many ways. For the woman whose heart is truly hidden in Christ is favored to receive a man seeking after God’s heart in all his ways – including finding her.

May your heart stay hidden in Jesus. 

46 responses to “A Heart Hidden in Christ

  1. Well, I guess great minds truly do think alike! I didn’t realize you had that Maya Angelou quote on your sidebar – next time you visit my blog, check out my sidebar….I have the same quote!

  2. I love that quote!! Thanks for the encouraging words, Kaysie! Love you, girl! Keep shining for Him!

  3. Hey Sweet Sis,
    Very thought provoking and inspiring! Truly our lives
    are like “seeds” and without being planted in the fertile
    soil of Christ, we dry up and die! I love you and thanks
    for the wonderful post!
    Courtney

  4. Touchofglory, wow, that is funny how we have the same quote! Don’t you just love it? I am enjoying your blog! :)

    Allison, thank you for your sweet encouragement. Glad you liked the quote; I think it particularly speaks to us single ladies – to be so hidden in Christ, and waiting for a man seeking the heart of God even on our behalf, is a encouragement for us. Love you too, Allison!

    Courtney, my amazing sis, I was so excited to find out about the “seed/planting/buried” angle to the verse in Colossians! It helped me picture the meaning so much better. Glad you liked it! Love you.

  5. Wow – that was excellent Kaysie! What a beautiful way to expound on such a neat quote. Thanks for the insights!

  6. What a great post! Thank you!
    It is so true – how I desire to be hid in Jesus Christ and to fully come to the point where I find that Jesus is my all in all in everything I could dream and desire!

  7. Amen, sister. I just love your heart for your sisters in Christ… not to mention your beautiful writing. I really needed this reminder, too, having been struggling with anxiety and wanting to hide myself from everyone. I need to realize that my true hiding place is in Him alone.

  8. Kasie, thank you so much… I am glad your heart was blessed by the quote! I just love it. :)

    Sara, I too desire to find that Jesus is my all in all. Glad to meet another beautiful young woman seeking after God’s heart!
    Oh…and sorry for the little mix up about which blog you commented on! Just one of my “moments”! Thanks for visiting and making time to comment – it means so much!

    Anna, thank you too, sister, for your heart for others. I enjoy reading your insights, and am always blessed by your honesty and humility in writing to the world. :) Keep it up!
    Also, I too struggle with wanting to hide myself from the world, and God is helping me a lot with this. Like you said, I need to realize that my hiding place is in Him. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Amen Kaysie! I’m so happy that there are young girls with such a desire… The Lord is our hiding place and there is no better place to be than in Him. I know it can be hard to wait, but it is soooo worth it. God bless you, and may He continue to inspire you through His word and with His love.

  10. This is a beautiful quote… however, it’s not from Angelou. It’s been going around the Internet via email, attached to a poem also inaccurately attributed to Maya Angelou. The poem in the email has been altered from the original, which was written in 1988 by Carol Wimmer. I’m working on tracking down the “woman’s heart” quote source, because it’s beautiful and spot-on! Thanks for your blog.

  11. There has been a lot of confusion about this quote’s original author and I am thankful to those who are trying to seek out the truth. I have heard many different names associated with this quote including: Max Lucado, Carol Wimmer (as mentioned above), and, of course, Maya Angelou.
    Let it be known that whoever was penned this beautiful quote has touched many hearts and deserves credit, but if I have failed to put the right name under the quote please know that in my heart God has been glorified and your treasure in heaven is great.

    Anyone else with a different author’s name in mind please feel free to leave a comment below. Thanks so much for all your insights!
    Blessings!

  12. i was looking for the author of that quote when i stumbled on your blog. :D

    i share your faith. this is one of the most romantic quotes i’ve ever come across. thanks for sharing.

  13. WOOO! praise our Lord Father God! Amen! I love this glorifying message…thank God!!!

  14. Praise the Lord! I bless God for women like you and I encourage you to continue this ministry as the world needs a poweful word such as this! I will be passing this along to all women, young and old, that need a word!

  15. Great I loved this!! God Bless :)

  16. Wow! I just discovered your blog! I absolutley LOVE it! Thanks for the encouragement.
    God bless!
    Caroline

  17. what a wonderful message, I wish all the world could read it.

  18. HG Calinawan

    “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in Christ, that a man should have to seek Him first to find her.” Maya Angelou

    – I love this quote too, actually, it was originally quoted by Max Lucado. =)

    Blessings!

  19. Pingback: Tiny Business» Links

  20. Thanks for writing for the Glory of God.

    Please, however, check your information before posting it. The quote is Max Lucado’s, not Maya’s.

  21. I really appreciate your perspective on a how a woman’s heart should be hidden in Christ. I truly believe this. I agree wholehearted that our young women and just women in general today are hiding themselves, cloak in superficial things, appearance, men, diets, society’s image of what a woman should be, and so on rather than hiding themselves in Christ. Thank you, so much for such eloquent words. God has truly blessed you with the ability to translate such a wonder message from such an amazing woman like Dr. Angelou. A Sister in Christ.

  22. Thanks 4 being there!

  23. hi, I believe that quote is originally attributed to Elisabeth Elliot, wife of Jim Elliot.

  24. specifically:
    Elisabeth Elliot, Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ’s Control (Grand Rapids, MI: Revell, 2002), p 30.

  25. wonderful and inspiring peace! I hope you would not mind if i shared this link with other women I know. :D

    God bless. :)

  26. thank you for sharing this! This is an eye opener to all of us, women, who tend to seek refuge and security in the wrong arms and for a wrong reason.

  27. Thank you,

    Whomever orginally wrote this wonderful poem I an blessed to have a friend in Christ forward it to. That’s what’s most important, not who wrote it. It was God inspired.

    Be Blessed, Be a Blessing!

  28. It’s been a while since you’ve posted this; the message is clear for an eternity! Our hearts are definitely in a safe place, hidden in Him. Amen!!!!

  29. Thank you for this sight “A Heart Hidden in Christ”
    http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Finlovewithchrist.wordpress.com%2F2008%2F01%2F14%2Fa-heart-hidden-in-christ%2F&h=85e20GXyEFl0bvVpIBtflx6pRwA
    I have it posted on my facebook so many can blessed by it.

  30. Thank you Sister for this Treasure, to know that a Heart Hidden in Christ, will always receive God’s Best. And I now know where to hide myself.

    God Bless

  31. Wanda J. Adams

    Thank you for this awesome testimony! As sisters in Christ continue their journey, as we hide in Christ the struggle is daily. Thank God the end will be the best, as we hide what is precious to the Lord–our hearts.

  32. made me see things in another light not so black and white i loved it thank you

  33. Kevin Williams

    If I may share my story for I confirm this place of hiddenness in Christ is also the place for men as well.
    I have been Christs man for a long time now, through those years I have received by various means many encouraging promises from God in regards to my own life without seeing them come to fruition, in fact the older I got the further away they seemed to me. I know well how devastating hope deferred can seem, it culminated for me over the past few weeks with me feeling that everything of any worth was being taken away from me, even my very work was frustrating me, not giving any return on my investment of self into it, I is broke ^_^.
    The doubts, the disappointments, the sorrows one feels in this state, how does one walk, continue to walk before the Lord when ones life seems so hard, and yet where else can one go – there is nowhere else we can go but to the Lord. God has taught me that over the years.

    Just last night in the homegroup I attend they asked how everybody was doing, when I was asked I simply said I felt that once again I was being laid low. Took them a while but I finally was able to let them pray into my situation and over me, but as they started I broke in and said to the Lord. “Whatever, I’m frustrated and angry but I give this to you anyway”.
    Whatever. all the promises, all the hopes, all the broken dreams, me myself. I then closed my eyes and my friends resumed their ministering over me.
    Immediately it seemed to me that I was in a high place, surrounded by what looked like thick cloud, but it wasn’t cloud, it was light, pure, so thick I couldn’t even see one pace into it. Tell you what this means to me, that I have been hidden so deeply in Christ I cannot see one pace ahead into my own future, and I am not afraid of that, strange though it may seem.
    All those things I had been holding on to I let go, all the promises, everything of my life, all the worries, all the cares. Me, released back into His care again. My troubles are no longer my troubles, they are His. They were my life but they proved to much for me, in fact they were destroying me. Our faithful God however uses such things to draw men back to Himself. What the enemy plans for evil God uses for good.

    As to those promises, as I have been hidden so deeply in Him I don’t even know my own future, I no longer care, He is my only concern.
    I only know His promise is sure, but I will never press Him on those promises again, as I said, they are in His hands. He is my King, whatever Lord, whatever you will.

    After my friends finished they moved on to another while I sat down. I became aware of feeling hemmed in, and I knew there was a scripture speaking that out. I found it in Psalm 139 and had to laugh, my friends had used part of the psalm to minister to me, and it was God affirming himself again to me through the words that I read.
    You hem me in — behind and before
    You have laid your hand upon me.
    Such knowledge is to wonderful for me,
    to lofty for me to obtain.

    So then I had to write my own Psalm
    You take me to my high places
    amongst clouds of glory
    I cannot see one pace in front of me
    my life, what it will be

    and it is good
    I am at peace
    and content

    and again He led me to another psalm, 32
    You are my hiding place
    You preserve me from trouble
    You compass me about with songs of deliverance
    You instruct me and teach me in the way I should go
    You counsel me and watch over me

    He gives us a future and a hope it is written,
    It is God Himself, He is our future, He is our hope
    A mans life does not consist in the things he possesses, but in Christ alone

    I trust it’s okay a man posting into this thread, I found it by looking for the scripture that mentions hidden in Christ and liked what I read. Just wanted to respond that’s all, I hope my story blesses you ladies.

  34. Thank you very much, Kaysie.
    As He continue to use you in His ministry.
    I am glad to be reminded that I must be so hidden in Him.
    And that He alone is enough for me to be complete.
    Praise God for your life.

    God bless,
    Elisha

  35. Love this message! so true and such an important message for all women and girls to understand. I am so thankful that God has the perfect man for each one of us and we don’t have to do anything but hide in our Saviour!
    God Bless you and your ministry!
    Amy

  36. God bless you, Kaysie! If only I had your wisdom at age 20! You are amazing. Your message – the truth women in the world are starving for – needs to be passed on. You are truly an inspiration!

  37. Thanks Maya you are beautiful! I posted “A woman’s heart….” on my face book

  38. That quote is by Max not Dr. Angelou! Thnx

  39. Empowering to know all women can feel safe,loved and more importantly valued for who they are.

  40. Pingback: Trying to figure out what's going wrong - Dating - Page 5 - Christian Chat Rooms & Forums

  41. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch simply because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this topic here on your internet site.

  42. Amen; thought provoking and makes one hold on further to my belief!! Thank you so much :-)

  43. Reblogged this on Journey Of Discoveries and commented:
    As I continue to move toward peace and contentment, I have found that I’ve been more encapsulated in my journey of spiritual Faith. It’s funny how God sets you on a course that you never, in your wildest thoughts, could ever conjure up- knowing that he has bigger and better plans for you that you could not have imagined. And when you just let go and let him lead the way, you feel that the burdens and worries that you’ve been carrying in your heart has disappeared. When I finally realized to just let go, I thought to myself “I should have done this a long time ago!” But then again, God’s timing is perfect and I know it wouldn’t have been any other way.
    I am rebloging a post that I found that speaks perfectly about having a heart hidden in Christ. Unfortunately, this blog has been discontinued. However, I’m glad most of this blogger’s insightful posts about Faith and Christ are still accessible. I hope this inspires you as much as it has for me =)

  44. I am often a bit puzzled over how God wants me to dress and behave as woman. As in, how much is to much, when it comes to appearance. I don´t think I have the ability to fully embrace being a woman until I get the right man. Then i think i would blossom as a woman :) But with God its more about embracing me as a part of him, regardless of gender.

    To stay hidden might mean :no push up, mini skirts, excessive make up, boob job, oh so high heels, french manicure, fashionable hairstyle, online dating, flirting and “looking for a guy”.

    It all depends on what you are looking for, or in this case, who is looking for you.

  45. I love that quote but it is not Maya Angelou who wrote that. It is Max Lucado. It will only take a couple of seconds to confirm that on the internet. I use that quote often with single women that I have mentored in the past; it’s one of my favorites. I thought that you might want to attribute it to the proper author though. :)

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

